Fall 97, Spring 98, Fall 98, Spring 99 seminar list.

FALL 1999 SCHEDULE

Audio and slide scans are now available for our seminars, please follow the highlighted links.


Monday, 23 August: Dr. James Isenberg, University of Oregon, 2:20 p.m., 339 Davey Laboratory,
"Understanding the Evolution of Cosmological Spacetimes"

Friday, 27 August: Dr. Soma Mukherjee, Penn State, 2:20 p.m., 339 Davey Laboratory,
"State Space Models & LIGO Data Analysis"

Friday, 03 September: Dr. Mijan Huq, Penn State, 2:20 p.m., 339 Davey Laboratory,
"Numerical Evolutions of Black Hole Spacetimes: Current Issues and Problems"

Friday, 10 September: Dr. Giovanni Amelino-Camelia, CERN (Switzerland), 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory,
"Are we at the dawn of quantum-gravity phenomenology?".

Monday, 13 September: Dr. Keith Lockitch, Penn State, 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory,
"Gravitational Waves from Unstable Neutron Stars"

Friday, 17 September: Chris Beetle, Penn State
"Isolated Horizons and Black Hole Mechanics"

Monday, 20 September; Sameer Gupta, Penn State, 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Lab,
"The Causal Propagator in Loop Quantum Gravity"

Friday, 24th September; Marco Zagermann, Penn State, 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Lab,
"Connection-Type Variables in Two Killing Vector Reduced Gravity"

Monday, September 27; Dr. Pablo Laguna, Penn State, 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Lab,
"A Linear-Nonlinear Formulation of Einstein Equations for the Two-Body Problem in General Relativity"

Friday, 01 October; Hisaaki Shinkai, Penn State, 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Lab,
"Towards an Application of New Connection Variables to Numerical Relativity"

Monday, 04 October: Dr. David Garfinkle, Oakland University, 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory,
"Topics in Critical Gravitational Collapse"

Friday, 08 October: Dr. Luis Lehner, University of Texas, Austin, 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory,
"A Light Walk on the Characteristic Road"

Friday, 15 October: Dr. Deirdre Shoemaker, Penn State, 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory,
"Tracking Multiple Event Horizons Using Level Flow"

Monday, 18 October: Dr. Jorge Pullin, Penn State, 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory,
"Consistent Theories of Canonical Quantum Gravity"

Friday, 22 October: Dr. Ted Newman, University of Pittsburgh, 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory,
"Legendre Transformations and Twistors"

Monday, 25 October: Dr. Roger Penrose, University of Oxford, United Kingdom, 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory,
"Schrödinger's Cat in Space"

Friday, 29 October: Dr. Soumya Mohanty, Penn State, 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory,
"Problems in Gravitational Wave Data Analysis"

Monday, 01 November: Dr. Brian Lantz, Stanford University, 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory,
"To be announced"

Monday, 08 November: Dr. Daniel Sudarsky, UNAM, Mexico, 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory,
"Periodicity in the Distribution of Galaxies and the Cosmological Dark Matter Problem"

Friday, 12 November: Mr. Gaurav Khanna, Penn State, 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory,
"Inspiralling Black Holes: The Close Limit"

Friday, 19 November, special time (NOON): Dr. John Whelan, ITP Bern, Switzerland, 12 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory,
"Gravitational Perturbations on a Cosmic String Background"

Monday, 22 November: Dr. Sean Hayward, Penn State, 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory,
"Black-Hole Dynamics"

Friday, 03 December: Dr. Amit Ghosh, Penn State, 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory,
"The Pre-Big Bang: A Long History of Time"

Friday, 10 December: Dr. Saurya Das, Penn State, 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory,
"Conserved Quantites in Anti-De Sitter Space Times"