Fall 97, Spring 98, Fall 98, Spring 99 seminar list.

SPRING 2000 SCHEDULE

Audio and slide scans are now available for our seminars, please follow the highlighted links.


Friday, 14 January: 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory, Mr. Olaf Dreyer, CGPG and Physics Department, Penn State,
"Isolated Horizons in 2+1 Dimensions"

Friday, 21 January: 10:45 a.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory, Mr. Daniel Cartin, CGPG and Physics Department, Penn State,
"Formation of Spiral Structure in Galaxies"

Friday, 28 January: 10:45 a.m., 318, Osmond Laboratory, Dr. V.P. Nair, CUNY and Massachusetts Institute of Technology,
"Yang-Mills Theory in (2+1) Dimensions: Vacuum State, String Tensions, etc."

Monday, 31 January: 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory, Dr. Peter Huebner, AEI, Potsdam, Germany,
"3D Numerical Relativity Without Artificial Boundaries--The Conformal Approach - I"

Friday, 04 February: 10:45 a.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory, Dr. Peter Huebner, AEI, Potsdam, Germany
"3D Numerical relativity Without Artificial Boundaries--The Conformal Approach - II"

Monday, 07 February: 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory, Dr. Peter Huebner, AEI, Potsdam, Germany
"Numerical Relativity Without Artificial Boundaries--The Conformal Approach - III"

Friday, 11 February: 10:45 a.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory, Mr. Martin Bojowald, ITP - Aachen, Germany
"Symmetric States in Loop Quantum Gravity"

Monday, 14 February: 2:20 p.m., 318 Osmond Laboratory, Dr. Abhay Ashtekar, CGPG and Physics Department, Penn State,
"Classical Theory of General Isolated Horizons"

Friday, 18 February:
Talk cancelled due to bad weather - postponed until March 3.

Monday, 21 February:
No seminar

Friday, 25 February: 10:45 a.m., Dr. Mark Beilby, CGPG and Physics Department, Penn State.
"Suspension Systems for Interferometric Gravitational Wave Detectors"

Monday, 28 February:
No seminar

Friday, 03 March: 10:45 a.m., Mr. Ramon Lopez-Aleman, CGPG and Physics Department, Penn State
"Evolving the Orbital Decay of Particles around Kerr Black Holes by Radiation Reaction"

Monday, 06 March:
SPRING BREAK - no seminar

Friday, 10 March:
SPRING BREAK - no seminar

Monday, 13 March: 2:20 p.m., Dr. Beverly Berger, Oakland University
"On the nature of the singularity in generic gravitational collapse"

Friday, 17 March: 10:45 a.m., Mr. Jacek Wisniewski, CGPG and Physics Department, Penn State
"Degenerate sectors of classical GR in connection variables"

Monday, 20 March: 2:20 p.m., Dr. Robert Mann, University of Waterloo
"Black Holes, Misner Strings and the AdS/CFT Correspondence"

Friday, 24 March: 10:45 a.m., Mr. Steve Fairhurst, CGPG and Physics Department, Penn State
"Distorted Black Holes"

Monday, 27 March: 2:20 p.m., Dr. Hisaaki Shinkai, CGPG and Physics Department, Penn State
"Hyperbolic formulations vs. Numerical relativity: Experiments using the connection variables"

Friday, 31 March:
No seminar

Monday, 03 April:
No seminar

Friday, 07 April: Talk cancelled due to Eastern Gravity Meeting.
 

Monday, 10 April: 2:20 p.m., Dr. Joseph Giaime, Louisiana State University
"Advanced seismic isolation for LIGO-II"

Friday, 14 April: 10:45 a.m., Dr. Soumya Mohanty, CGPG and Physics Department, Penn State
"Detecting transients in noisy data"

Monday, 17 April: 2:20 p.m., Dr. Patrick Brady, University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
"Gravitational wave astronomy: new challenges for theorists"

Friday, 21 April: 10:45 a.m., Mr. Chris Beetle, CGPG and Physics Department, Penn State
"The Mechanics of General Isolated Horizons"

Monday, 24 April: 2:20 p.m. Calabrese, Dreyer, Fairhurst, Garrison, Kelly, Krishnan, Lopez, Willis and Wisniewski, CGPG and Physics Department, Penn State
"Testing general relativity with gravitational wave detection: two perspectives"

Friday, 28 April: 10:45 a.m., Mr. Yi Ling, CGPG and Physics Department, Penn State
"Supersymmetric Spin Networks"

Monday, 1 May: 2:20 p.m., Mr. Sameer Gupta, CGPG and Physics Department, Penn State and Santa Fe Institute
"An extension of loop quantum gravity to non-compact spaces"

Friday, 5 May: 10:45 a.m., Dr. Carlos Lousto, AEI, Golm, Germany
"Gravitational waves from black hole collisions via an eclectic approach"

Monday, 8 May: 2:20 p.m., Dr. Oscar Reula, University of Cordoba, Argentina
"Stability of expanding cosmologies"