Fall 97 seminar list

SPRING 1998 SEMINAR SCHEDULE

Monday, January 12: Raquel Garcia, Imperial, 2-3 p.m.,
"From handlebodies to causally continuous geometries"

Thursday, January 15: Barry Barish, LIGO-Caltech, 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.,
"Detecting gravitational waves with LIGO"

Tuesday, January 20: Fotini Markopoulou, Penn State, 2-3 p.m.,
"Causal Operators on Quantum Gravity States"

Tuesday, January 27: Karel Kuchar, University of Utah and Penn State, 2-3 p.m.,
"Time for Space: Canonical Dynamics of Gravitating Shells"

Thursday, January 29: Roberto DePietri, Penn State, 1-2 p.m.,
"The Matrix Elements of the Hamiltonian Constraint Operator in Loop Quantum Gravity"

Tuesday, February 3: Anzong Wang, Universidad do Estado do Rio de Janiero, Brazil, 2-3 p.m.,
"Critical Collapse in Scalar-Tensor and Non-Linear Gravity Theories"

Thursday, February 5: Stephen Ramsey, University of Maryland, 1-2 p.m. ,
"Nonequilibrium inflation dynamics and reheating"

Tuesday, February 10: Lior Burko, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, 2-3 p.m.,
"The Singularity Inside Black Holes"

Thursday, February 12: Raymond Puzio, Penn State, 1-2 p.m.
"Understanding Superspace Differential Invariant Theory in the Large"

Tuesday, February 17: Daniel Holz, Chicago, 2-3 p.m.
"Lensing in Inhomogeneous Cosmologies"

Thursday, February 19: Kirill Krasnov, Penn State, 1-2 p.m.
"Spin foam models and the classical action principle"

Tuesday, February 24: Jamie Lombardi, Cornell, 2-3 p.m.
"Post-Newtonian Models of Binary Neutron Stars"

Tuesday, February 26: Jorge Pullin, PSU 2-3 p.m.
"Lambda=0 from canonical quantum gravity?"

Tuesday, March 10: David Meyer, UC San Diego, 2-3pm
"Quantum Strategies"

Tuesday, March 17: Kostas Kokkotas, Thessaloniki University, 2-3pm
"Gravitational Waves and Pulsating Relativistic Stars"

Tuesday, March 19: Norbert Wex, Jena/Princeton University, 2-3pm
"Pulsar Astronomy and the hunt for stellar mass black holes"

Tuesday, March 24: Nils Andersson, Tuebingen and Southampton , 2-3pm
"TBA"

Thursday, March 26: Jerzy Lewandowski, Uniwersytet Warszawski, 1-2pm
"The loop representation with infinitely many intersections "

Tuesday, March 31: Roger Penrose, Oxford, 2-3pm
"New twistor description of vacuum spacetimes"

Thursday, April 2: CANCELLED

Tuesday, April 7: John Baez, UC Riverside , 2-3pm
"Spin Foam Models of Quantum Gravity"

Thursday, April 9: John Baez, UC Riverside , 1-2pm
"Spin Foam Models of Quantum Gravity - Part II"

Thursday, April 16: Oscar Nicasio, Univ Cordoba , 1-2pm
"Applications of second order perturbations of Schwarzschild black holes"

Tuesday, April 28: No seminar (Jose Antonio's defense).

Monday, September 14, 1998: Erik Curiel, Stanford University, 2-3pm
"Title to be announced"