Fall 97, Spring 98, Fall 98 seminar list.

SPRING 1999 SCHEDULE

Audio and slide scans are now available for our seminars, please follow the highlighted links.


Thursday, 14 January: Dr. Renate Loll, Albert Einstein Institute, Potsdam, Germany, 10-11 a.m.,
"Lorentzian Quantum Gravity in 2d or Life Beyond Liouville Theory"

Thursday, 21 January: Dr. Steve Brandt, Penn State, 10-11 a.m.,
"Collision of Unequal Mass Black Holes"

Tuesday, 2 February: Dr. Gabriela Gonzalez, Penn State, 2:30-3:30 p.m.,
"Boltzmann vs. Einstein: the Fluctuation Dissipation Theorem and Gravitational Waves"

Tuesday, 9 February: Dr. Donald Schneider, Penn State, 2:30-3:30 p.m.,
"Expanding the Frontiers: The Sloan Digital Sky Survey's View of the Distant Universe"

Thursday, 11 February: Dr. Mark Beilby, Penn State, 10-11 a.m.,
"Laboratory Gravitation Experiments with Torsion Balances"

Tuesday, 16 February: Dr. Dong Lai, Cornell University, 2:30-3:30 p.m.,
"Tidal Interactions in Coalescing Compact Binaries"

Wednesday, 17 February: Dr. Philip Papadopoulos, Albert Einstein Institute, Germany, 12:30-1:30 p.m.,
"Modern Relativistic Hydrodynamics on Null Hypersurfaces"

Thursday, 18 February: Dr. Thomas Baumgarte, University of Illinois, Urbana, 10-11 a.m,
"On the Numerical Integration of Einstein's Field Equations"

Tuesday, 23 February: Dr. John Collins, Penn State, 2:30-3:30 p.m.,
"Penrose's Computer Can Be a Conscious Mathematician"

Thursday, 25 February: Dr. Soma Mukherjee, Penn State, 10-11 a.m.,
"Three Types of Gamma Ray Bursts"

Tuesday, 16 March: Dr. David Weinberg, Ohio State University, 2:30-3:30 p.m.,
"Cosmology with the Lyman-alpha Forest"

Thursday, 18 March: Dr. Kimberly New, Drexel University, 10-11 a.m.,
"Gravitational Radiation from the Dynamical Bar Mode Instability"

Tuesday, 23 March: Dr. Thomas Thiemann, Albert Einstein Institute, Potsdam, Germany, 2:30-3:30 p.m.,
"Mathematical Physics of Quantum General Relativity"

Thursday, 25 March: Dr. Matthias Arnsdorf, 10-11 a.m.,
"Spinorial States in Pure Loop Quantum Gravity"

Tuesday, 30 March: Dr. Steinn Sigurdsson, Astronomy Department, Penn State, 2:30-3:30 p.m.,
"BH-BH Mergers - Some Scenarios for LIGO Detection"

Tuesday, 6 April: Dr. Shyamoli Chaudhuri, Physics Department, Penn State, 2:30-3:30 p.m.,
"Path Integral Evaluation of Dbrane Exchange Amplitudes"

Thursday, 8 April: Dr. Nergis Mavalvala, Caltech, 10-11 a.m.,
"Sensing and Control in Interferometric Gravitational Wave Detectors: The key to interferometric locking"

Tuesday, 13 April: Dr. Mike Eracleous, Astronomy Department, Penn State, 2:30-3:30 p.m.,
"Observing the Dynamics of Gas Accreting onto Black Holes"

Thursday, 15 April: Dr. Laurent Freidel, CGPG & Physics Dept., Penn State, 10-11 a.m.,
"3D Quantum Lorentzian Geometry"

Tuesday, 20 April: Dr. Peter Fritschel, MIT, 2:30-3:30 p.m.,
"Extracting the Gravitational Wave Channel from LIGO"

Thursday, 22 April: Dr. Mark Scheel, Cornell University, 10-11 a.m.,
"Numerical Evolution of Black Holes Using Hyperbolic Formulations of General Relativity"

Friday, 30 April: Dr. Eanna Flanagan, Cornell University, 2:30-4:00 p.m.,
"Radiation Reaction in General Relativity"